ECOO Board 2015-16 Takes Office


A new ECOO Board of Directors for 2015-16 has taken office as of the conclusion of the 2015 Annual General Meeting, held November 5th, 2015 in conjunction with the #BIT15 Bring IT, Together conference in Niagara Falls, Ontario.

Following a Call for Nominations process, nominations for the roles of President, Vice-President, Secretary, and two Directors-At-Large were received by the Nominations Committee, resulting in 5 acclamations and one remaining vacancy (Treasurer).

Mark W. Carbone has been re-acclaimed to the annually-elected role of President, Donna Miller Fry has been acclaimed to the role of Vice-President, Colin Jagoe has been acclaimed to the role of Secretary. Jaclyn Calder and Mark Chesser have each been acclaimed to two-year terms as Director-At-Large, joining Zoe Branigan-Pipe and Alana Callan who will be continuing on the Board in the second year in their two-year terms. Dan Ballantine has agreed to continue in the role of Treasurer in the interim until the new Board appoints a replacement to the role.  Harry Niezen will continue on the Board as the appointed Conference Chair.  The role of Past President on the Board remains vacant for the time being.

Biographies submitted for the 2015 nominees are provided here. The full board, together with contact information, is posted to the ECOO Board of Directors, 2015-16.

Mark W. Carbone

Mark has 34 years experience in K12 public education in Ontario through a variety of roles including teacher, ICT consultant, IT manager and CIO. In his ongoing work with OSAPAC (Ministry advisory committee), the OSSEMOOC project, and his past experience with ECOO, he is well positioned to provide leadership to the ECOO organization for the 15/16 year as ECOO continues to support moving Ontario education forward with important next steps.

Donna Miller Fry

Donna Fry has over thirty years’ experience in publicly­funded schools in Ontario as a teacher, administrative head, online instructor, alternative education teacher, vice­principal, and principal. She served as an Education Officer with the Curriculum and Assessment Policy Branch ­ eLearning Ontario. Currently she is the Provincial Lead for Technology Enabled Learning and Teaching, on secondment from her role as a Secondary Principal with Superior­Greenstone District School Board. She is a member of OSAPAC, co­lead of OSSEMOOC and served on the ECOO Board of Directors for the 2014­15 year.

Colin Jagoe

Colin has served on the ECOO Board as a Director-­At-­Large for the past year and looks forward to continuing to serve the Ontario Education Community again. He currently teaches secondary science in Brighton, Ontario. He is an advocate for change in our school system and believes that strategic use of technology can drive our schools to change, becoming places better suited for learning for today’s learners.

Jaclyn Calder

Jaclyn has worked with the ECOO Conference Committee for a several years, spearheading a number of new initiatives that debuted at the 2013 and 2014 BringIT, Together conferences. Jaclyn highly values what ECOO has to offer to Ontario educators, having seen the benefits from engagement in work of ECOO within her teaching practice, and she is eager to give back to the organization.

Mark Chesser

Mark has been integrating technology and Web 2.0 tools into his teaching practice for several years. In 2013, he was the eLearning teacher for his Board, an opportunity which he found challenging and a real signpost of his future career. Mark looks forward to being on the Board of Directors of the ECOO so that he can help other teachers already using technology as well as help other teachers learn more about what it is we already do.

New Board Seeks Input
The new Board will be seeking input from ECOO members regarding initiatives beyond the scope of the annual conference. Members interested in participating in ECOO initiatives should contact a member of the Board to declare their interest.

Board of Directors selection process
Under the ECOO bylaw, a Nominations Committee for the 2016 process will be struck at the first meeting of the new board, and a Call for Nominations for 2016-17 will be made no later than three months prior to the next Annual General Meeting. Nominations for the annually elected roles of President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and 2 Director-At-Large positions will be received up until 40 days prior to the next Annual General Meeting. Where there is more than one nominee for an elective position, an Election Process will occur. The new Board will take office at the conclusion of the next Annual General Meeting.


Andrew Forgrave,
Chair, Nominations Committee